Test Blog Up and Running!

OK, This is my experimentation with Word Press.  I really like the Page feature and the K2 Template, but I’d like to be able to change some things – width for example – and I’d like Word Press to be a little more user friendly.  This is a near-mirror-image of my current blog, ClimbSkiRun.blogspot.com.

Skip over to my Blogger site and there’s a poll in the sidebar (another widget not easily available here) to vote on which site you like more.  Decision will be made on 1 January 2009 for the new year.

Cheers

Chris

2 Responses to “Test Blog Up and Running!”


  1. 1 Sara 25 December 2008 at 2:47 am

    hey, Chris!

    I love the wordpress look & feel… I’ve been running a mirror of rockclimbergirl.com here for awhile, but I just can’t get the widgets and some of the things I’m used to having on Blogger working on wordpress, so I’ve held off on making the official switch. The big reason for me to switch to wordpress is pages; the big reason for me to stay at blogger is the hassle of switching. I did make a “button bar” to allow me to link to some key posts as if they were pages… but I really, really do wish Blogger would just implement pages in a way better than their current suggestion (current suggestion: build a google site. what a pain).

    Anyway – thank you for following (the follow is mutual, at least, your blogger blog 😉 and let me know how your wordpress transition goes if you flip the switch, since I may be doing it in the new year…

  2. 2 Chris 25 December 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I’m completely in agreement with you, Sara. My + / – ‘s are the same: I like the pages, hate the lack of features. The vote is 50/50 right now, including non-polled comments. With only a week to go, I’m leaning to sticking with Blogger for now, and switching to Word Press when I’m ready to host my blog off-site. Privately hosted Word Press templates allow all the html ideas that we like. I don’t have the time to make that big a switch right now, but perhaps this spring…
    Cheers
    Chris


Leave a Reply

